Sarawak Energy Receives 16 Awards At 40th MSOSH Awards


6 JANUARY 2023

Sarawak Energy was recently recognised for its commitment to occupational safety and health, with the energy development company receiving a total of 16 awards at the 40th MSOSH Occupational Safety and Health Awards (MSOSH Award) ceremony on 21 December 2022 in Kuala Lumpur.

First introduced in 1982, the annual MSOSH Award is presented by the Malaysian Society for Occupational Safety and Health (MSOSH) to organisations in Malaysia with proven outstanding OSH performance. The award also recognises participants who are proactively and continually improving their OSH performances with consistency, persistence and resilience at the workplace.

Representing Sarawak Energy at the awards ceremony, Group Chief Operating Officer Ir. James Ung said the multiple awards were a testament to the Group’s commitment in ensuring safety and health was of the highest priority in the Group's daily work operations.

"We are truly honoured with these awards and we thank all our stakeholders, especially our team members, for making this possible. In addition to providing electricity at the lowest average tariffs in Malaysia and Southeast Asia, we are committed to keeping our people as safe as possible, working to ensure everybody goes home safely. We will continue to build on our strong approach to occupational health & safety, cultivating OSH cultures at the workplace with the aim of always providing a safe, healthy and secure work environment for all employees and contractors,” he added.

Sarawak Energy’s power generation arm Murum Hydro Power Generation was recognised with one of the MSOSH Award’s highest accolades – the Gold Merit Award. Commissioned in 2014, the power station provides up to 944W of renewable energy to meet Sarawak’s needs.

Syarikat SESCO Berhad Sibu, Syarikat SESCO Berhad Bintulu, Balingian Power Generation, Mukah Power Generation, Sejingkat Power Corporation, Bakun Hydro Power Generation, Tanjung Kidurong Power Station, Miri Power Station and Lawas Power Station were selected as Gold Class I Award winners.

Syarikat SESCO Berhad Miri, Syarikat SESCO Berhad Sarikei, Batang Ai Hydro Power Generation, Sg. Biawak Power Station, and Limbang Power Station each received a Gold Class II Award while Syarikat SESCO Berhad Sri Aman won a Silver Award.

Sarawak Energy was also represented by Marconi Madai, Senior Vice President for HSSE; Polycarp Wong, Vice President for Hydro; Haji Yusri Safri, Vice President for Distribution and Robin Tigai, General Manager for HSE alongside employees from various stations.

Around 1,500 people attended the event, which saw participation from the Department of Occupational Safety & Health, Social Security Organisation, PETRONAS, Bank Islam, FGV Holdings Berhad, Pengurusan Air Selangor and other large enterprises. Also present were guest-of-honour, The Honourable Haji Mustapha Sakmud, Deputy Minister for Human Resources; Mohamad Mahathir Bin Mohamed Younos, Chairman for MSOSH 2022 and MSOSH President, Ahmad Fakhrul Anuar Bin Ismail.

Qualifying companies are subject to stringent document and site verification audits by a panel of qualified and dedicated auditors for consideration by the MSOSH Technical Committee based on their capabilities and competencies for their respective award categories. The MSOSH Award gives due recognition to member organisations and companies who have achieved commendable OSH performance and/or have shown remarkable improvement in their OSH processes through sound Safety and Health Management systems.

Sarawak Energy's attending team members in high spirits upon receiving 16 awards at the MSOSH Award ceremony in Kuala Lumpur