Sarawak Energy Recognised for Environmental Stewardship at the Chief Minister’s Environmental Award (CMEA) 2019-2020


Sarawak Energy was an overall winner and received three golds and two merit awards the 9th Sarawak Chief Minister’s Environmental Award (CMEA) 2019-2020 themed ‘Enhancing Environmental Stewardship’.

Its energy generation subsidiary Mukah Power Generation Sdn Bhd (MPG) was named Champion in the Large Enterprises Category –Manufacturing sector for initiatives in nurturing environmental stewardship resulting in productivity without compromising the protection and conservation of the environment.

The energy development corporation and power utility company also clinched three golds under the same category for its Murum Hydroelectric Plant, Bakun Hydroelectric Plant and Sejingkat Power Corporation while Batang Ai Hydroelectric Plant and Tanjung Kidurong Combined Cycle Power Plant Project received Merit awards respectively.

Sarawak Energy Group Chief Executive Officer Datu Haji Sharbini Suhaili commented at the event that the awards were validation of Sarawak Energy’s commitment to environmental stewardship.

“We are grateful to be recognized through these prestigious awards for our efforts in environmental stewardship and incorporating sustainability in our operations by emphasising the proper management of both social and environmental issues,” he added.

The CMEA is the premier environmental award for small, medium and large enterprise industries as well as government agencies and the media in the state. It is organised jointly by Natural Resources Environment Board Sarawak (NREB) and the Sarawak Business Federation supported by other relevant agencies. It aims to encourage good stewardship in environmental protection and management in Sarawak.

The awards ceremony was graced by Sarawak Chief Minister YAB Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Tun Openg and was also broadcasted virtually.

At the awards ceremony, Mukah Power Generation Station Manager Abbas Salimi Madon received the award for MPG. For Murum Hydroelectric Plant, Bakun Hydroelectric Plant and Sejingkat Power Corporation, the awards were received by Encharang Ngtingih, Murum Station Manager, Marconi Madai, Senior Vice President for Health, Safety, Security & Environment and Chong Kok Hua, Senior Manager for Sejingkat Power Corporation respectively.

Erwin Lamat, Maintenance Assistant Manager and Chua Kim Leong, Project Director received the honours for Batang Ai Hydroelectric Plant and Tanjung Kidurong Combined Cycle Power Plant Project respectively.

For the assessment of the awards, the first stage of assessment involved a submission of report based on the criteria set by CMEA’s Technical Committee which also covers EMS ISO 14001. A panel also assessed five areas of processes namely Commitment & Policy, Planning, Implementation of Environmental Management Plan, Measurement and Evaluation of Environmental Programmes and the Environmental Management Review.

Shortlisted candidates then went on to the second stage of assessment which comprised on-site visits to verify the information provided in the report conducted by the Technical Committee/ Panel of Judges.

Sarawak Energy’s Senior Vice President for HSSE, Marconi Madai (4th right) flanked by General Manager for HSSE, Ir. Robin Tigai (3rd right), along with award recipients from Sarawak Energy pose with the awards at the CMEA 2019/2020.

Recipient for Champion- Large Enterprises Category – Manufacturing sector.

Recipients of the Gold Awards.

Recipients of the Merit Awards.