Sarawak Energy Contractors’ Recognised for Commitment to Safety Compliance

16 JULY 2021

Twenty six of Sarawak Energy’s contractors were recognised for their commitment to and compliance with safety requirements at the recent Contractor Transformation Programme (CTP) Award 2020.

Held annually since 2017, the award is part of the corporation’s ongoing effort to instil health, safety, security and environment (HSSE) excellence at project sites towards making a safe place to work. The contractors were from the generation, distribution, and fuel resources arms of Sarawak Energy.

The 2020 edition of the awards assessed thirty six (36) contractors and awarded six (6) contractors gold, nine (9) given silver and another ten (10) for bronze awards for successfully cultivating HSSE Excellence in projects and enabling a generative HSE Culture, compliance with the corporation’s Life-Saving Rules and proactiveness in building safety compliance at the workplace.

The focus of the programme is for the development of strategic partnerships towards promoting self-regulation and continuous improvement as well as enhancing professionalism and discipline among the contractors.

Group Chief Executive Officer Datu Haji Sharbini Suhaili congratulated the winning contractors, especially on the role that they played in combating COVID-19 at project sites with their compliance to the company and government directives to keep people safe. He also highlighted on how the programme has enabled the continuous improvement of contractors’ safety performance.

“The Contractor Transformation Programme has enabled us to identify gaps in health, safety and environmental performances for Sarawak Energy and our contractors, facilitating the development and implementation of remedial measures,” Sharbini said in his speech at the CTP award.

The event was also attended by Ir. Dr. Nor Halim Bin Hasan, Director of Department of Occupational Safety and Health (DOSH) Sarawak; Hamzah Bin Mohamad, Director of Department of Environment (DOE) Sarawak; Peggy Ronin Anak Edin, Controller of Natural Resources and Environment Board (NREB) Sarawak. About 800 dialled in to the virtual event, including Sarawak Energy and contractors senior management and personnel.

Sarawak Energy’s Senior Vice President for Health, Safety, Security and Environment Marconi Madai highlighted the programme’s alignment with DOSH’s National OSH Master Plan 2016-2020 to inculcate a Preventive Culture at the workplace and DOE’s Guided Self-Regulation to lead contractors towards HSE Self-Regulation.

“Our CTP Awards aims to encourage closer engagements with contractors as well as to identify and establish remedial measures in addressing issues related to accident preventions, regulatory compliance and best practices in line with the Continuous Improvement towards HSSE Excellence”, Marconi explained.

The gold award recipients for CTP 2020 Award were Gabungan Binaan Jurutenaga Sdn. Bhd., Highline Electrical Works, Hii Brothers Electrical Co., Kejuruteraan Powerpoint Sdn. Bhd., Metro Glide Sdn. Bhd., and Timor Kencana Sdn. Bhd.

The silver award recipients this year were Aik Loung Land & Marine Electric Motor Works Sdn. Bhd., Avid Ventures Sdn. Bhd., AZ Enterprise, Ciri Kuasa Sdn. Bhd., Hankong Electrical Sdn. Bhd., Hii Hua Chuon Electrical Works, John Ho & Company, Phang Yeu Fatt & Paul Phang Contractors Sdn. Bhd., and Yamaco Engineering Sdn. Bhd.

The bronze award recipients were Glorious (NG) Electrical Engineering Sdn. Bhd., Mega Electrical Engineering Service; Aura Mutiara Sdn. Bhd., Lim Aik Chai Electrical Sdn. Bhd., Hing Lee Electrical & Air-Condition Works, Promace Engineering Sdn. Bhd., Sun Enterprise & Services Co., Selamat Jaya, Setia Yara Electrical Works, and Yong Kiong Aircond & Electrical Sdn. Bhd.

Last year, Sarawak Energy recognised fifteen contractors for successfully complying with every safety aspect in their work processes and environmental protection.

Contractor Transformation Programme Award 2020.

Group photo with Gold Award recipients: Gabungan Binaan Jurutenaga Sdn. Bhd. (Centre, Right), Highline Electrical Works (Bottom, Right), Hii Brothers Electrical Co. (Bottom, Left), Metro Glide Sdn. Bhd. (Bottom,Centre), and Timor Kencana Sdn. Bhd. (Top, Right).

Ir. Dr. Nor Halim Bin Hasan, Director of Department of Occupational Safety and Health (DOSH) Sarawak (Left); Hamzah Bin Mohamad, Director of Department of Environment (DOE) Sarawak (Centre) and Peggy Ronin Anak Edin, Controller of Natural Resources and Environment Board (NREB) Sarawak (Right) delivering their remarks in the CTP Award 2020.