Sarawak Energy Presents Curtin University Students with Education Awards

KUCHING, 9 MAY, 2019, THURSDAY: Sarawak Energy presented 10 education awards to nine top-scoring graduates from Curtin University Malaysia (Curtin Malaysia) at the university’s Awards Ceremony recently. The initiative is part of the company’s ongoing effort to develop talent and to build up a competent workforce in the state.

Vice President for Information, Communication and Technology (ICT), Sim Ko Sin presented the awards at Curtin Malaysia’s 12th Awards Ceremony dinner, held at a leading hotel in Miri. The initiative is part of the corporation’s ongoing efforts to develop talent and to build up a competent workforce in the state. Sim is Sarawak Energy’s ambassador for Curtin Malaysia.

“We hope through these awards, bright young talent from Sarawak Energy will be motivated to continue to excel in their studies and fulfil Sarawak Energy’s aspiration to create a pool of competent young talents who are potential recruits for future manpower needs,” said Sim.

The award ceremony was held in conjunction with Curtin Malaysia’s 20th anniversary and was also attended by Curtin University Chancellor Dr Andrew Crane, Vice-Chancellor Professor Deborah Terry, Pro-Chancellor of Curtin Malaysia Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Dr George Chan Hong Nam, Pro Vice-Chancellor, President and Chief Executive of Curtin Malaysia Professor Jim Mienczakowski, Chairman of the Curtin Malaysia Board of Directors Dato Ose Murang, Chair of Curtin Malaysia’s Management Committee Datuk Lee Kim Shin, and former Vice-Chancellor and President of Curtin University Emeritus Professor Dato Lance Twomey.

The Sarawak Energy awards were presented to Cynthia Ung Leh Teen for Best Bachelor of Commerce Double Major Accounting and Finance Graduate, Lucas Chai Gao King for Best Bachelor of Technology (Computer Systems & Networking) Graduate, Wesley Ting Chiong Hock for Best Bachelor of Engineering (Electrical Power) Graduate, Christine Ann Obek for Best Bachelor of Engineering (Chemical) Graduate and Ngu Leong Weiy for Best Bachelor of Engineering (Mechanical) Graduate. The graduates received RM2,000 and a certificate each.

Additionally, Christine Ann also received the Special Category Award, together with Bong Chu Jun and Carolyn Sung Kai Wen. They received RM1,000 and a certificate each.

Best Project Award was given to Jennifer Choo Cheng Yin and Anderson Chieng Kah Thai, who received RM1,000 and a certificate each.

Sarawak Energy signed a Memorandum of Understanding with Curtin Malaysia in 2015 to intensify cooperation in the areas of academia, industrial training, research and development and corporate social responsibility.

Under Sarawak Energy’s Scholarship Programme, the energy developer and power utility also funds higher education for Sarawakian students. Currently, there are 194 Sarawak Energy scholars studying in various local and private universities under the programme with 24 studying in Curtin Malaysia campus.

Sim (centre) presenting an award to one of the students. Also seen in the photo is Professor Mienczakowski.

Sim (facing camera) having a light moment with Sarawak Energy scholars after the award presentation

Sim and Professor Mienczakowski (6th and 7th from right) posing for group photograph with all of Sarawak Energy’s award recipients.