Sarawak Energy Cup 2019

KUCHING, 13 AUGUST 2019, TUESDAY: Top doubles badminton players can look forward to over RM20,000.00 worth of prize money for the much-anticipated Sarawak Energy Cup 2019 tournament.

Held annually since 2016, this year’s event will be held from 5 to 8 September at Sentosa Sports Centre.

The tournament features team events comprising the following categories: Men’s Doubles Open, Novice Men’s Doubles, Men’s Doubles (Invitation Category), Men’s Doubles Mix (Open and Invitation), and Men’s Doubles Veteran.

Games will be played on a group league system in the first round followed by single knock-out system with quarter-finals, semi-finals and the final play-off. Matches will be played on a 21-point 3 game system. Each player is permitted to participate in one tie per match.

The main prize for the team events is the Sarawak Energy Cup with accompanying cash prizes and medals, followed by the Sarawak Energy Plate and Sarawak Energy Shield.

The winning team of the Sarawak Energy Cup will take home RM8,000.00, a trophy and medals while the first runner up will receive RM4,000.00 and medals. Semi-finalists will receive RM2,000.00 each.

The Sarawak Energy Plate team winner will win RM2,000.00 while first runners-up and quarter-finalists receive RM1,000.00 and RM500.00 respectively.

The winning team of the Sarawak Energy Shield will bag RM500.00 while first runners-up will receive RM300.00.

Participation is open to Sarawakians only. The Invitation Category in the Men’s Doubles (Invitation Category) and Men’s Doubles (Open and Invitation) is open to non- Sarawakians.

The closing date for registration is by 12.00pm on 29 August, after which a draw for the teams’ placement will be conducted at 11.00am on 4 September at Menara Sarawak Energy.

There is a non-refundable registration fee of RM300.00 for the team events. More information on the tournament and registration forms can be obtained at Sarawak Energy’s official website, or Sarawak Energy’s official Facebook account.

Information can also be obtained from Sarawak Energy Cup 2019 committee members- Stephen Yee (019-8880341) and Kelvin Jee (012-8787533).