Sarawak Energy Shines At The Chief Minister's Environment Award (CMEA) 2014

KUCHING, 26thDECEMBER 2014, FRIDAY: Sarawak Energy strengthened its green credentials by coming on top as an overall winner as well as bagging three golds at the 6th Sarawak Chief Minister’s Environmental Award (CMEA) 2014, capping off a year of accolades from external agencies.

The company was named overall winner in the Large Industries Services Category – Telecommunication, Electricity Supply, Waste Disposal and Water Supply for its Sejingkat Power Corporation Sdn Bhd. This improves upon its previous performance when it won gold in the 2012 CMEA Award.

Sarawak Energy also clinched two golds under the same category for its Bintulu Tanjung Kidurong Power Station and Mukah Power Generation. Another facility, the Batang Ai Hydro Power Station won gold in the Services and Other Sectors (Medium Industries Category).

Commenting on the achievements, Chief Operating Officer Lu Yew Hung said the awards were welcome validation of Sarawak Energy’s environmental stewardship of its operations.

“These prestigious awards recognise our efforts to incorporate sustainability in our operations, emphasising the proper management of both social and environmental issues. This is aligned with Sarawak Energy’s vision for sustainable growth as we meet the region’s need for reliable and renewable energy,” he added.

The year has seen Sarawak Energy receiving multiple awards for business and corporate citizenship.

The company was announced Utility of the Year- Malaysia in the Asian Power Awards 2014 held in September for its continuous efforts in enhancing and driving the development of clean and renewable energy in Sarawak and for the company's massive transformation journey. At the same event, Chief Executive Officer Datuk Torstein Dale Sjotveit was also awarded CEO of the Year for his leadership in transforming the state-owned utility company into a modern and agile corporation ready for its vital role in powering Sarawak’s development through the Sarawak Corridor of Renewable Energy (SCORE).

In April, Torstein also received the outstanding Entrepreneurship Award in the Oil & Gas, Mining and Energy category at the Asia Pacific Entrepreneurship Awards (APEA) BIMP-EAGA 2014.

Also in September, Sarawak Energy was recognised for its efforts in corporate social responsibility, picking up the coveted ‘CSR Excellence Award’ at the Sin Chew Business Excellence Awards.

The CMEA is the premier environmental award for small, medium and large enterprise industries as well as government agencies and the media in the state. It is organised jointly by Natural Resources Environment Board (NREB) and the Sarawak Chamber of Commerce and Industry (SCCI) together with other relevant agencies.It aims to encourage good stewardship in environmental protection and management in Sarawak. The awards were presented by Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri (Dr) Haji Adenan bin Haji Satem at the CMEA dinner which was held recently in conjunction with NREB Sarawak’s 20th Anniversary.

At the awards ceremony, Senior Vice-President for Thermal James Ung and Sejingkat Station Manager Daniel Sahari received the award for Sejingkat Power Corporation. For Bintulu Tanjung Kidurong Power Station and Mukah Power Generation, the awards were received by Operation Manager Wan Malek Wan Ridzuan and Station Manager Muhammad Abdullah Ali respectively.

Polycarp HF Wong, Vice-President for Hydro, Marconi Madai, General Manager for Corporate Risk and HSE and Encharang Ngtingih,Batang Ai Station Manager received the honour for Batang Ai Hydro Power Station.

For Sejingkat Power Corp’s win, the first stage of assessment involved a written submission involving a series of questionnaires. A panel also assessed five areas of processes namely Organisational Environmental Policy, Environmental Planning- Objectives and Target as well as Environmental Management Action Plan, Implementation of Environmental Management System, the Measurement and Monitoring of Environmental Activities and the Environmental Management Review.

Shortlisted candidates then went on to the second stage of assessment which comprise of an audit conducted by Acting Assistant Controller for Planning and Development Section, Tang Hung Huong. The objective for this was to verify the accuracy of the written submission as well as site inspections.

For Batang Ai Hydro Power Station, the assessment by NREB was conducted in two stages - assessment on documentation followed by a site inspection on Nov 6.

Sarawak Energy’s Chief Operating Officer Lu Yew Hung (centre) flanked by Senior Vice-President for Thermal James Ung (7th right), Vice- President for Hydro Polycarp HF Wong (9th right), Corporate Risk and HSE General Manager Marconi Madai (10th right) along with station managers and staff of Sarawak Energy pose with the awards at the CMEA 2014

The Sejingkat Power Plant

Sarawak Energy Chief Executive Officer Datuk Torstein Dale Sjotveit (right) receiving the honor of CEO of the Year at the Asian Power Awards 2014 from Asian Power Magazine Editor-in-Chief Tim Charlton.

Sarawak Energy Chief of Corporate Services Aisah Eden receiving the “CSR Excellence Award” from Finance Minister II YB Dato’ Seri Haji Ahmad Husni Mohamad Hanadzlah