DM Sri Tabuan Champion In 16 Team-Challenge For Sarawak Energy Cup 2017

KUCHING, January 8, 2018, Monday: DM Sri Tabuan emerged champion of the Sarawak Energy Cup 2017 after beating 15 other teams vying for the main title in the annual badminton tournament, held from 26 December to 31 December 2017.

DM Sri Tabuan players defeated Club Ace in the final to win the tournament trophy, RM8,000 and medals for their effort. Runner up Club Ace received RM4,000 and medals while semi-finalists DM Sri Tabuan A and G Builders/PBM A received RM2,000 per team.

Held since 2016, the 2017 edition attracted 16 teams. The competition was divided into categories: Veteran Men’s Double (45 years and above), Men’s Double, Men’s Double (Invitation Category) and Novice Men’s Double.  A total of RM20,000 in prize money was on offer across all categories.

Sarawak Energy’s Executive Vice President for Strategy and Corporate Development Ting Ching Zung presented the prizes at the prize giving ceremony. Also present were Senior Vice President for Human Resource Dr Mak Met and Vice President for Research and Development Dr Chen Shiun and senior management.

The annual tournament is open to Sarawakians, permanent residents and those holding work or study permits in Sarawak, and is organised to promote a healthy lifestyle as well as to foster greater rapport within the badminton-playing business community. 

Ting (8th from right) presenting the trophy and mock cheque to Sarawak Energy Cup 2017 champion, DM Sri Tabuan.