Generation Portfolio


The Mukah coal-fired power plant, owned by the SEB subsidiary Mukah Power Generation Sdn Bhd (MPG), received its final acceptance certificate for commercial operation in 2010.

The plant sits on an 865-acre site about 30km east of Mukah town along the Mukah-Balingian coastal road. It comprises two units of 135MW boiler-turbine-generator units, which are primarily fuelled by local coal, with distillate fuel oil as a standby energy source.

The plant uses conventional pulverised-fuel technology in the boilers to generate steam that drives the turbo generators. The power generators then step up to 132kV by generator transformers, and export to the SESCO grid via a 132kV switchyard built by SESCO.

The project also includes ancillary infrastructure. This includes a coal yard with a related coal-handling system, an ash pond with a corresponding ash-handling system, a chimney, electrostatic precipitators with a related fuel-gas system, a cooling pond with an associated cooling water system, as well as a distillate fuel-oil system and storage tanks. The operation and maintenance of the plant is carried out by MPG personnel.


Sarawak Energy conducts thermal power generation through its wholly owned subsidiaries, Syarikat SESCO Berhad (SESCO), Sarawak Power Generation Sdn Bhd (SPG), Sejingkat Power Corporation Sdn Bhd (SPC), PPLS Power Generation (PPLS) and Mukah Power Generation Sdn Bhd (MPG). As at 2014, the total installed capacity within the Thermal Department exceeded around 1,200MW, with five major power stations connected to the Sarawak State Grid (the network of extra-high-voltage transmission lines and substations that connect generating power plants to the distribution networks that serve the towns and cities of Sarawak) and 19 isolated rural diesel and mini-hydro power stations.

During the first quarter of 2010 the Bintulu combined cycle project, with a combined capacity of 317MW, was successfully commissioned. The Bintulu plant was registered with the United Nations under the Clean Development Management (CDM) scheme on 18 September 2010. The CDM scheme is part of the Kyoto Protocol environmental agreement and aims to encourage sustainable development and reduce greenhouse gas emissions. The Bintulu facility is the first CDM plant in Malaysia.


The Hydro Generation Department owns and operates the hydro assets. The Department takes the lead in the planning, initiation and concept phases of all big hydro projects before passing them over to the Project Execution Department to execute all the phases until commissioning and finally handing over the assets. The Department also identifies small hydropower potential that could be developed in particular to support the rural electrification in nearby areas. During 2010 the Department undertook feasibility studies on potential sites. Much progress was made during the year in ensuring that feasibility studies were conducted in a consistent manner and have a broad scope.

Whereas studies previously focused primarily on the technical aspects of projects, they were broadened to include factors such as power evacuation and transmission, land-use compensation, access roads, and political and social implications.  At the moment only Batang Ai which is commissioned in 1984 is in operation while Murum is still at its early stage of construction. Batang Ai recorded an average availability of 94.17 per cent and total energy generation of 351.086 GWh in 2013.


The Transmission Department owns and operates the Sarawak State Grid. The network also carries bulk electricity to large power users. As the appointed Grid System Operator (GSO), the Transmission Department operates and controls the Sarawak power system, including power generation scheduling and dispatch. It is also the asset owner and Transmission Network Service Provider (TNSP), responsible for the maintenance and safe and efficient operation of the network to ensure reliable electricity supply. The department is also responsible for the planning and development of the State Grid to meet the State’s future power requirements.


The Distribution Department consists of two main units: Distribution Network and Distribution Asset Management. Together they are responsible for ensuring that power is distributed efficiently throughout the State. Distribution Network has four divisions: Western Region, Central Region, Northern Region and Distribution Planning. Each region is responsible for operating and maintaining its own distribution assets to ensure optimum output. One of the main tasks of the regions is to connect new customers, including large industrial customers, in a timely manner.

Distribution Planning works closely with Transmission Planning and Non-Grid Generation Planning to ensure a holistic planning process for networks up to and including 33kV. Distribution Asset Management maintains and ensures the efficient operation of the distribution network’s database systems, and other assets and processes. This includes overseeing data collection by regional Global Information Systems (GIS), providing policy and technical specifications, undertaking maintenance and installation planning, and managing the inventory of all electrical equipment stocks.